Munnar Administration & Grama Panchayath

Idukki District came into existence in 1972 January 26. the  Munnar Administration Grama Panchayat was formed in 1966. At first it was a part of Kottayam District. It belongs to Devikulam Taluk which is on the border, and very near to Tamil Nadu. Actually Munnar has got roots into the prehistoric period of Kerala and TamilNadu.
The Munnar administration here is under the Panchayathi Raj administrative system, which was implemented in October 1995.

Munnar AdministrationThe Munnar administration includes Grama Panchayath, which is under Devikulam Block Panchayath, cares for the social, economic, cultural and educational reconstruction of Munnar.Idukki District Panchayath offers all its help to develop Munnar as one of the best Tourist centers in Kerala.

Munnar is under Devikulam Assembly constituency and Idukki Parliamentary constituency. Due to the wastness of these constituencies the speed of progress can not be rapid though the representatives strive hard. Idukki District has one Parliament Constituency named Idukki. The elected member of this constituency is able to represent the region in the highest law-making body (Parliament) of India . Mr Joyce George is the M P of this constituency, at present.

Munnar AdministrationThe district is divided into five Assembly constituencies, viz., namely Thodupuzha, Udumbanchola, Idukki, Peermade and Devikulam. The elected representative of this assembly constituency represents the region in the legislative assembly of the state of Kerala. Members of the assembly and the parliament are elected for a period of five years. They are supposed to work for the progress of the entire constituency. They have to present the problems faced by the people of their respected constituencies in the assembly Parliament and also to suggest remedies for the problems. Mr. S ranjendran is the present MLA (Member of Legislative Assembly 2016 -2021 ) of Devikulam Constituency. An able representative can change the face of his constituency if he is fully devoted to its progress. S.Rajendran.